Ten Years Later

The Towers seconds after the second plane hit.

Today was challenging. I wanted to write a deep and meaningful post today, but I decided to keep it simple instead.

I came into work today, like it was any other day. I came in, checked out my truck and signed out my narcotics. Then as usual in my routine I turned on the day’s news to see what was going on around the country. There it was. The North Tower as already on fire, and within seconds the second plane hit the South Tower. I relived that fear, and anxiety all over again almost instantly. Where did the last 10 years go?

I was left speechless all over again. This time, I knew the pain and suffering that happened that day. I was a freshman in high school when this happened. I am not going to bore you with the story of what I was doing or where I was. We all have that story. It is just another thing that united us as a nation on that day.

It is not about me today, it is about the men and women of the FDNY, NYPD, PAPD that gave their lives that day, and the countless civilians that didn’t get that choice.

This video was published on YouTube on the 6th Anniversary, but its a very moving clip and wanted to share it.

Leave a Reply

